Answer the following questions in a fluent paragraph:

- What were your expectations for this course?
- How do the careers you've learned about in this course compare to the careers you were thinkingf of prior to taking the course?
- Which career is your facorite, and what do you need to accomplish to move towards this career?
Joe Kempsey
4/10/2013 11:50:45 pm

My expectation for this class is how I planned them to be. The jobs that were recommended to me from the surveys taken on the choices application correctly fit my thinking skills, which made them good candidates for one of my future careers. My favorite career that has been given to me on choices was the job accountant. It fit my high skill areas, like math, which is where I exceed in school right now. Overall, this class is a fun experience and a fun way to plan out my future.

Reply
Ryan Murray
4/10/2013 11:53:14 pm

Ryan Murray 4/10/13
Journal 5

When I signed up for this course I expected that I would take surveys and other tests to guide my course decisions through high school and college. I also thought that it would help me finally decided what I wanted to do when I am older. This course has helped me narrow down my choices. I came in here not knowing at all what I wanted to do and now I have a better idea. I think that I want to do something with science or architecture when I’m older. To do this I’ll have to be careful with my course choices and pick things that will help me with whatever career I choose.

Reply
Mina Surprenant
4/10/2013 11:53:23 pm

My expectations for this course were to learn about different careers and to choose the career that was right for me. I was expecting to learn about skills needed for jobs that we will do in the future and what skills we have individually. The careers we are learning about are different from anything that I would have been expecting to learn about. They vary widely and they have different skills needed, different salaries, and different tasks that one must complete when doing that job. My favorite job is the Interior Designer because it seems interesting and it is like something I’ve never done before. It is a creative job and I am a creative person, so I like this job a lot. To move towards this career, I must work hard and take art classes, and try to achieve the skills needed for this field.

Reply
Mike Mahoney
4/10/2013 11:53:47 pm

My expectations for this course prior to taking the course was that I would be able to narrow down what job I would want to have. I expected that I would learn about what you have to know how to do and what jobs suited me best. The careers I’ve learned so far have been pretty similar to the ones I was thinking about prior to taking the course. I knew that I wanted a job in the science field because that is the only subject that I find at all interesting. I have picked basically all careers that were science related so far in this class. My favorite career is a biomedical engineer. I think it would be cool to make fake body parts and organs. I plan on working my hardest in school so that I Can achieve a career that I want.

Reply
Mykola Duda
4/10/2013 11:54:06 pm

I feel as if my expectations for this course were to look through careers and decide which one is the career for my future and why. Before I came into this class I didn’t really know what I wanted to do in my future. I’m down to three choices now, physical therapist, coach, and special operations team member. I’m think I’m leaning toward going toward the navy or marines. I’ve looked into this job and I feel as if it’s the one for me. Even this job takes a lot of mental, physical preparation I think I can accomplish this. In order to accomplish my goal of getting into the forces I need to be physically fit and take a lot of practice tests in order to pass the real physical and mental exams. I also have to understand that I’m putting my life into danger my going into enemy grounds and fighting for my country. I feel as if I can accomplish this and am successful and happy doing this career.

Reply
Brendan Conneely
4/10/2013 11:54:12 pm


My expectations for this course were that I would be exposed to many different careers and may be even know which I want to follow in life. So far I have seen many different careers that interest me but I still am undecided in what I want to do. Before I took this course I did not know about many different careers or if I’d be capable of doing them. My favorite career would probably be a pharmacist because it seems very interesting and they make a lot of money. It would be hard to become one because you have to go to school for a long time and it will be very expensive.

Reply
Sandra Wilson
4/10/2013 11:54:29 pm


My expectations for this course were to learn about different careers that I might not have considered prior to this course and learn skills needed to complete them. Some of the things I expected to learn about those careers were the salaries, required education and training, and specific tasks of those jobs. Before this course I haven’t really considered many career choices, but the one I was thinking about has changed. Before this course I was thinking about becoming a forensic scientist, however I learned more about different jobs, like a dentist, and they seem to interest me more. From the surveys, the other careers fit me better also. My favorite career that I’ve learned about is either a Dentist or a Surgeon. In order to move towards these careers I have to keep studying in science topics to learn more about health and human biology. Also I should try to become more organized with papers and my work in order to be efficient.

Reply
Peter thornton
4/11/2013 11:34:15 pm

Journal 5

I was expecting to learn about different careers and see what they have to do in their job. This class helped me look at jobs I haven’t thought of before. We learned about certain jobs salary, descriptions, education and what skills are needed for that certain career. Before this class I wanted to be an Architect but then I learned about other jobs that interest me like a Lawyer and a Real Estate Agent. If I want to become a lawyer which is my favorite career I have to work harder in all my classes and take classes like criminal law.

Reply
Sean Mahoney
4/11/2013 11:36:53 pm


I expected Careers to be a course that I would learn about many different occupations that might appeal to me. I expected the course to educate me on these jobs and give me an idea about what I may end up doing in the future. I like science classes and I am good at science so I already thought I would want to become something in the scientific or medical field when I get a job. Prior to this course I had sort of began thinking about my future. My Mom is a nurse and I would not want to be a nurse but I would enjoy something in the medical field. So the careers that I have been focusing on are all medical related or at least science related. After looking at multiple careers, some of them that appeal to me the most are Physician Assistant, Coroner and Pharmacist. I really am interested in being a coroner because I like the show NCIS and I like ducky’s job. He is a coroner. I have learned a lot about different jobs and it interesting.

Reply
Haley Giaramita
4/11/2013 11:39:12 pm

For this course, I expected to figure out what career interested me the most. I expected to learn about certain career choices that are possible to excel in for the future and what skills I would need. So far, I’ve researched some careers that I did not expect that I would learn about or have an interest in. In this class I have learned more about being a private investigator or a counseling psychologist which I have never before even thought about. After researching these careers, I became more interested in them. I also learned more about skills I need to be a lawyer, the career which I originally had in mind. Out of all these careers, I would most likely choose a lawyer because I know most about this career. For this career I would need to practice my public speaking because lawyers need to be able to speak in court and to clients and witnesses. Through this class I have learned many skills that I will need to be successful in the careers I am interested in.

Reply
Kayla Moreau
4/11/2013 11:51:50 pm

My expectations for this course were very accurate compared to how it actually is. I thought that it would be all about careers and making decisions independently and that is what it is. The careers I’ve learned about in this course are very similar to those that I was thinking of prior to taking this course. I’ve always wanted to go into the field of medicine and I like anything having to do with helping people getting healthier. I am also good at science and it interests me the most out of all of my school subjects. My favorite career is anesthesiology, and there are many goals I need to accomplish in order to become one. I need to work hard in high school so that I get into a good college that possibly has a good medical school/program. After my required four years of college, I need to get into medical school and take the required classes I need to in order to become an anesthesiologist.

Reply
Monica Kapiti
4/14/2013 11:46:25 pm

Journal 5


I expected this course to be different. I thought we would be taught about different kinds of careers, and what we would be good at. Before I started this course I wasn’t sure what I wanted to be but as the classes are going by I am starting to realize what I could achieve at and what expectations are needed for a career. Pediatrician is my favorite career because I get along with children. My skills are also appropriate for this career.

Reply
Nicholas DeFelice
4/14/2013 11:47:01 pm

My expectations for this course were to learn about different jobs, and when we find some that are interesting we would learn more about them and also learn about jobs that fit our personality. The careers I learned about so far are close to what I was thinking about before I came into this class. The jobs I was thinking about were science jobs and because I am good in science and the jobs fit my personality are some of the jobs I was thinking about like a biologist I am in biology now and I am very good at it I need to be really god at biology and need to find out what kind of biologist I want to be.

Reply
caramartin
4/14/2013 11:47:18 pm

Cara Martin
Miss Edwards
April 11, 2013
Careers
Journal 5
My expectations for careers, and what careers actually is differs. I expected that we would have to take a paper survey to be matched with a career, and then spend the rest of the semester researching the career, and budgeting our lives for the future; assuming we do choice the career we were matched with. I came into careers considering a career, but not too sure about it, through the process of researching and needing to have some direction while looking for colleges and planning for my future, I have come to the conclusion of my original idea when coming into this class. The career path I have decided to take has been that of a Speech Language Pathologist; Speech Therapist.

Reply
Tyler Alexander
4/14/2013 11:47:42 pm

My expectations for this course were that I was going to learn a career field that I wanted to pursue. I also expected to learn what I would need to take in school to get the career I want. The careers so far are what I thought I would want to do. Most of the careers require working with your hands or critical thinking. These values I already knew I wanted. I did learn the careers that lineup with these values through the surveys. I think the surveys are accurate in describing me. The career that interests me the most is police detective.

Reply
Chris Bachman
4/14/2013 11:48:49 pm

Chris Bachman 4/11/2013

Journal 5


My expectations for this class were just as this class is. I expected to be working on the computers a lot and planning possible careers for the future. The jobs in which I use for this class are nearly identical to the jobs I would have liked to have prior to taking this course. Some of these jobs are architect, construction worker, carpenter, police officer, etc.

Reply
john muldoon
4/14/2013 11:51:28 pm

I was expecting a course that could help me create portfolios. I also though this class would help me feel more comfortable speaking in front of people. Another thing is that im going to be a senior next year and to take this class would greatly help me for where I want to go and what I want to do. It also would hopefully help me when it comes to working on computers.

Reply
Tim Carstensen
4/14/2013 11:52:05 pm

I had several expectations for the Careers course when I chose it. Some of the jobs that I have learned about so far compare well to what jobs I was thinking of before this class. Also, other courses are not what I expected I would get with the surveys. The surveys that we have done on Choices and on paper are fairly accurate to what characteristics I have and the jobs it gave me that would best fill those characteristics. My least favorite career that I have been given was automobile mechanic. I did not like that job because I think it did no fill my characteristics and interests well. My favorite was architect because it seems like an interesting career. To be an architect you must be good at math and at technical design classes.

Reply
Phil O'Meara
4/15/2013 11:31:28 pm


My expectations for this course was to learn about new occupations that I want to do when I am older and the colleges that I want to go to. I like some of the other careers that were presented, but I still like the careers that I chose. I am very interested in the careers that are in the medical field. My favorite career is an Orthopedic surgeon because I am interested in the relationship between the bones and the muscles in the human body.

Reply
Bryan Volpe
4/15/2013 11:48:41 pm

My expectations for the course were rather accurate. I expected to again a better understanding of various careers that exist. Additionally, i expected to find careers that suite as well as interest me. Specific careers that i have learned about match up to the careers i was thinking of on all levels. An example would be the clinical psychologist, being that my concept of the job was very similar to the actual description of the job. My favorite career was the psychologist, primarily beacause it was interesting to me. In order to accomplish this, i need to attend college and get a high level degree in the field.

Reply
Faviola
4/18/2013 09:23:25 am

My expectations was to get more knowledge about careers that interest me and that will match my skills. I think the surveys are really helpful when choosing a career , the careers I choose were pharmacist, and dental hygienist.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.