by Andrew Braaksma
Published in Newsweek Magazine, September 11, 2005


Last June, as I stood behind the bright orange guard door of the machine, listening to the crackling hiss of the automatic welders, I thought about how different my life had been just a few weeks earlier. Then, I was writing an essay about French literature to complete my last exam of the spring semester at college. Now I stood in an automotive plant in southwest Michigan, making subassemblies for a car manufacturer. 

I have worked as a temp in the factories surrounding my hometown every summer since I graduated from high school, but making the transition between school and full-time blue-collar work during the break never gets any easier. For a student like me who considers any class before noon to be uncivilized, getting to a factory by 6 o'clock each morning, where rows of hulking, spark-showering machines have replaced the lush campus and cavernous lecture halls of college life, is torture. There my time is spent stamping, cutting, welding, moving or assembling parts, the rigid work schedules and quotas of the plant making days spent studying and watching "SportsCenter" seem like a million years ago.

I chose to do this work, rather than bus tables or fold sweatshirts at the Gap, for the overtime pay and because living at home is infinitely cheaper than living on campus for the summer. My friends who take easier, part-time jobs never seem to understand why I'm so relieved to be back at school in the fall or that my summer vacation has been anything but a vacation.

There are few things as cocksure as a college student who has never been out in the real world, and people my age always seem to overestimate the value of their time and knowledge. After a particularly exhausting string of 12-hour days at a plastics factory, I remember being shocked at how small my check seemed. I couldn't believe how little I was taking home after all the hours I spent on the sweltering production floor. And all the classes in the world could not have prepared me for my battles with the machine I ran in the plant, which would jam whenever I absent-mindedly put in a part backward or upside down.

As frustrating as the work can be, the most stressful thing about blue-collar life is knowing your job could disappear overnight. Issues like downsizing and overseas relocation had always seemed distant to me until my co-workers at one factory told me that the unit I was working in would be shut down within six months and moved to Mexico, where people would work for 60 cents an hour.

Factory life has shown me what my future might have been like had I never gone to college in the first place. For me, and probably many of my fellow students, higher education always seemed like a foregone conclusion: I never questioned if I was going to college, just where. No other options ever occurred to me.

After working 12-hour shifts in a factory, the other options have become brutally clear. When I'm back at the university, skipping classes and turning in lazy re-writes seems like a cop-out after seeing what I would be doing without school. All the advice and public-service announcements about the value of an education that used to sound trite now ring true.

These lessons I am learning, however valuable, are always tinged with a sense of guilt. Many people pass their lives in the places I briefly work, spending 30 years where I spend only two months at a time. When fall comes around, I get to go back to a sunny and beautiful campus, while work in the factories continues. At times I feel almost voyeuristic, like a tourist dropping in where other people make their livelihoods. My lessons about education are learned at the expense of those who weren't fortunate enough to receive one. "This job pays
well, but it's hell on the body," said one co-worker. "Study hard and keep reading," she added, nodding at the copy of Jack Kerouac's "On the Road" I had wedged into the space next to my machine so I could read discreetly when the line went down.

My experiences will stay with me long after I head back to school and spend my wages on books and beer. The things that factory work has taught me--how lucky I am to get an education, how to work hard, how easy it is to lose that work once you have it--are by no means earth-shattering. Everyone has to come to grips with them at some point. How and when I learned these lessons, however, has inspired me to make the most of my college years before I enter the real world for good. Until then, the summer months I spend in the factories will be long,
tiring and every bit as educational as a French-lit class.
Sandra Wilson
2/12/2013 10:16:17 pm

1.Andrew Braaksma works at factories around his hometown during the summers.
2.In the factories, Andrew stamps cuts welds or assembles parts.
3.Some of the problems Andrew recognizes for those with a career as a factory worker are long hours, small pay, very hard work, machine jams, and the possibility of losing their job overnight.
4.Life lessons that Andrew learned from his summers at the factory are that if u don’t study hard in school you can end up doing manual labor for a living and not make enough money to survive and maintain a family. Also his summers at the factory teach him how to work hard every day.
5.“As frustrating as the work can be, the most stressful thing about blue-collar life is knowing your job could disappear overnight”. This quote teaches that education sets up your life for work. If u don’t get a good education and don’t go to college u can end up with an unstable job with little pay.

Reply
Tyler Alexander
2/12/2013 10:16:27 pm

1. Andrew works in an automotive plant in southwest Michigan.
2. Andrew puts parts into a machine on an assembly line.
3. Andrew realizes that working in a factory pays well but it is very hard on your body. He also sees that it is easy to be moved or released because of downsizing.
4. Andrew learned that he should not skip classes and work hard. He also learns that it is very easy to lose work once you have it.
5. “Factory life has shown what my future might have been like had I never gone to college in the first place.” Andrew now knows how he would have had to live his life if he had never gone to college. He sees how people are not as lucky as him to receive an education.

Reply
Phil O'Meara
2/12/2013 10:16:44 pm

Phil O’Meara
Journal 1

1. Andrew Braaksma works his summers in an automotive plant in southwest Michigan.
2. Some tasks that Andrew performs are stamping, cutting, welding, moving or assembling parts in a car manufacturing factory.
3. Andrew realizes that there are many problems for people working in factories. One problem is that the factory pays well, but it is tough on the body, and he says that you must value school.
4. The life lessons that Andrew has learned from working in the factory are that you need to value your books and education because it is much easier to be educated and get paid well then having to work long tough hours for a good pay.
5. “The things that factory work has taught me--how lucky I am to get an education, how to work hard, how easy it is to lose that work once you have it--are by no means earth-shattering.”. I agree with this quote because it influences me and makes me want to go to college and get a good education instead of having to do harder work and get paid less.

Reply
Tim Carstensen
2/12/2013 10:17:00 pm

1. Andrew Brakksma works on and assembly line for a car manufacturer.

2. He stamps, cuts, welds, and moves or assembles parts.

3. Exhausting 12-hour days, such small of a paycheck for that time, and knowing that his job could disappear overnight.

4. Andrew realizes how important a good education is and how lucky he is to have such a good education.

5. “Factory life has shown me what my future might have been like had I never gone to college in the first place.” This quote tells me that Andrew knows what life would be like had he not have and education and how lucky he is to have one.

Reply
Chris Bachman
2/12/2013 10:17:14 pm

1. Andrew Braaksma works in an assembly line in a power plant during the summers.
2. Andrew performs tasks like: Operating machinery, stamping, cutting, welding, moving or assembling parts, etc.
3. Andrew says that one person working a blue collar job could lose their job overnight which is very stressful to him.
4. Andrew has learned the importance of getting an education. He realized that the work in the factories goes on year-round, not just in the summer which he works.
5. A coworker once told Andrew, "This job pays well, but it's hell on the body". This shows Andrew that with education he could get a different job without the stress on the body that has equal or greater pay.

Reply
mike mahoney
2/12/2013 10:17:35 pm


1.Where does Andrew Braaksma work during his summers?
a.Andrew works in a factory during his summers.

2.What are some of the tasks Andrew performs?
a.Andrew makes parts for a car manufacturer.

3.What are some of the problems Andrew recognizes for those with the career as a factory worker?
a.Issues like downsizing and overseas relocation, poor pay, long hours

4.What life lessons has Andrew learned from his summers at the factory?
a.That school is very important and he should keep working hard so that he has options

5.Choose a quote from the reading and react to it. Include the quote.
a.“As frustrating as the work can be, the most stressful thing about blue-collar life is knowing your job could disappear overnight”
I agree with this quote because It would be bad to know you could lose your job at any time

Reply
Brendan Conneely
2/12/2013 10:18:21 pm

1. Andrew Braaksma works as a temp in factories over the summer.

2. Andrew spends his time in the factories stamping, cutting, welding, moving or assembling parts of cars.

3. Andrew works very long hard hours that do damage to his body meanwhile he does not even make that much money. Also factories get relocated and you could be without a job for a while.

4. Andrew has learned that education is a very special privilege and should not be taken for granted because if you do not get a good education you might have to work in the brutal factories your whole life.

5. “The things that factory work has taught me--how lucky I am to get an education, how to work hard, how easy it is to lose that work once you have it--are by no means earth-shattering.” This quote tells me that education is no joke and you take it seriously because you don’t want to work in a factory busting your butt for your entire working life.

Reply
Haley Giaramita
2/12/2013 10:18:36 pm

1. Andrew Braaksma works at an automotive plant in southwest Michigan during his summers.

2. For this job, Andrew must be at the factory by 6 in the morning so he could stamp, weld, cut, and move or assemble parts.

3. Andrew recognizes that some problems for those with careers as factory workers are your job could disappear overnight and the check seems so cheap for all the extenuating work.

4. The life lesson Andrew has learned from his summers at the factory are a good education is needed to live a fulfilling life with good pay, whereas factory workers have cheap checks for their extenuating work.

5. “After a particularly exhausting string of 12-hour days at a plastics factory, I remember being shocked at how small my check seemed.” This quote shows that as a factory worker you get paid very little for having a long day of very tiring work, but with a good education better jobs are available with higher pay.

Reply
Nicholas DeFelice
2/12/2013 10:20:13 pm

1. Andrew Baraaksma works as a temp in the factories surrounding his hometown every summer.

2. He stamps, cuts, welds, or assembles parts of a car.

3. Andrew recognizes that your job could disappear overnight, small checks for the long hours he worked.

4. Andrew learned that if he had never gone to college that his life is like working in the factory.

5. “Factory life has shown me what my future might have been like had I never gone to college in the first place.” This shows me how important a good education is and that if you slack off you will get a very poor job.

Reply
Faviola Mendez
2/12/2013 10:20:36 pm

1. Andrew Braaksma worked as a temp in the factories.
2. Some of the tasks he performs are he spent his time stamping welding, moving or assembling parts.
3. Some problems Andrew recognizes for those who work in factories that is it a harsh work and don’t get pay well.
4. Andrew has learned that he should not get lazy and not to skip classes to have a better future.
5. “how lucky I am to get an education, how to work hard” He feels having an education is better than working at the factories for very low wages.

Reply
Elina Arakelyan
2/12/2013 10:22:19 pm

1. Andrew Braaksma works in the factories as a temp during summers.
2. His time spent stamping, cutting, welding, moving or assembling parts, the rigid work schedules and quotas of the plant making days spent studying and watching "SportsCenter"
3. One of the problem, that Andrew recognizes is that he got small amount of checks after all hours that he was spending at the work.
4. had always seemed distant to me until my co-workers at one factory told me that the unit I was working in would be shut down within six months and moved to Mexico, where people would work for 60 cents an hour. Factory life has shown me what my future might have been like had I never gone to college in the first place
5. “Factory life has shown me what my future might have been like had I never gone to college in the first place.”

Reply
Monica Kapiti
2/12/2013 10:23:50 pm

1. He works as a car manufacturer.
2. He spent his time stamping, cutting, welding, moving or assembling parts, the rigid work schedules and quotas of the plant making days spent studying and watching "SportsCenter" seem like a million years ago.
3. He starts to realize that his job could disappear overnight.
4. Factory life has shown him what his future might have been like had he never gone to college in the first place.
5. "This job pays well, but it's hell on the body," said one co-worker.” it’s a good paying job but it’s a lot of hard work and pain that you have to put in it.

Reply
Kayla Moreau
2/12/2013 10:24:08 pm

1.Andrew Braaksma works in an automotive plant in southwest Michigan, making subassemblies for a car manufacturer in his summers.


2.Andrew has to stamp, cut, weld, move and assemble parts in order to make subassemblies for a car. He also has to arrive at the factory at 6 o’clock in the morning.

3.The problems that Andrew recognizes are the 12 hour days that are exhausting, the small check, and most of all knowing your job could disappear overnight.


4.Andrew has learned that he should be happy that he has the opportunity to go to college to get an education for a better job. Is he wasn’t, he would be working at the plant for possibly the rest of his life.


5.“I never questioned if I was going to college, just where. No other options ever occurred to me.” That is how I feel about college. My whole family went to college so it was never a question to whether I would go or not, just where I would go. I never thought about getting a job without an education or even going to a trade school.

Reply
Ryan Murray
2/12/2013 10:26:11 pm

Ryan Murray 2/12/13

My Turn: Some Lessons From The Assembly Line

1.Andrew Braaksma works in an automotive plant in southwest Michigan.

2.Andrew makes subassemblies for a car manufacturer. He stamps, cuts, weld, moves, and assembles parts.

3.Andrew recognizes that the job is hell on his body and does not pay very well.

4.From working at the factory Andrew has learned that college is very important. If he did not go to college he would always have to work at the factory.

5.“The things that factory work has taught me…”
I agree with this quote. The factory has taught Andrew about how important an education is.

Reply
Mykola Duda
2/12/2013 10:30:14 pm

1. Where does Andrew Braaksma work during his summers?
Andrew Braaksma works at an automotive plant in southwest Michigan during his summers.

2. What are some of the tasks Andrew performs?
Some of the tasks Andrew performs are stamping, cutting, welding, moving, or assembling parts.

3. What are some of the problems Andrew recognizes for those with a career as a factory worker?
Some of the problems Andrew recognizes for those with a career as a factory worker are, little pay, long day’s work, knowing that you can lose your job any time, and that your body takes a big effect off of the work done in a factory.

4. What life lessons has Andrew learned from his summers at the factory?
Some of the life lessons that Andrew learned from his summers at the factory are that he is fortunate to have an education unlike many people at the factory; he learned how to work hard, and how easy it is to lose your job.

5. Choose a quote from the reading and react to it. Include the quote.
“Factory life has shown me what my future might have been like had I never gone to college in the first place.” My dad has always told me and still tells me to make sure I get a good education because if you don’t you will end up like the unfortunate group of people who have to work physically not mentally for a living.

Reply
John Muldoon
2/12/2013 10:32:01 pm

1. Where does Andrew Braaksma work during his summers?
Andrew works in an automotive plant in southwest Michigan.

2. What are some of the tasks Andrew performs?
Andrew jobs are stamping, cutting, welding, moving or assembling parts.

3. What are some of the problems Andrew recognizes for those with a career as a factory worker?
Andrew recognizes that it takes a toll on his body and the pay isn’t a lot of money.

4. What life lessons has Andrew learned from his summers at the factory?
Factory life has showed him that people need to have a high education to get a good job.

5. Choose a quote from the reading and react to it. Include the quote.
“As frustrating as the work can be, the most stressful thing about blue-collar life is knowing your job could disappear overnight”. This could be a scary situation for people because if they have an off day they can lose their job. This also shows how people want your job and you have to keep it.

Reply
Bryan Volpe
2/12/2013 10:32:09 pm

Career Exploration Unit 1: Self Knowledge
Journal #2 Bryan Volpe

1. Where does Andrew Braaskma work during his summers?
Throughout the course of the summer, he works for an automotive plant located in Southwest Michigan, constructing subassemblies for car manufacturers.

2. What are some of the tasks Andrew performs?
Andrew creates subassemblies for car manufactures, in essence moving and assembling parts for various automobiles.

3. Andrew is aware of the fact that the wages are decent, but the work takes a massive toll on the body and can be pretty rough. The job also takes valuable time away from his studies.

4. Education holds ultimate authority over making money, and will benefit him in the long run as opposed to his blue collar job.

5. “This job pays well, but it’s hell on the body,” one co-worker said. I feel that someone’s health and well being is much more important than money. If you are not healthy, life can be become increasingly more difficult as time goes on.

Reply
Roger Camacho
2/12/2013 10:37:21 pm


1. he works in a factory close to his hometown

2. He worked a machine that required parts to be inserted into it and if put in wrong the machine would jam.

3. he learns that a job like his could only last so long. Factories like the one he works at tend to move and close down without warning.

4. That he should be grateful that he has an education and can has an opputunity to find a better job than the one he had

5. "This job pays well, but it's hell on the body," said one co-worker. I witness this everyday with my brothers when they come home from work there tired and grumoy from their job at volskwagen but they say its worth it evertime when they see that paycheck

Reply
Sean
2/13/2013 10:30:05 pm

1. Where does Andrew Braaks work during his summers?
The character works in a plant over the summer on an assembly line.

2. What are some of the tasks Andrew performs?
Andrew does things such as cutting, stamping and moving assembly parts.

3. What are some of the problems Andrew recognizes for those with a career as a factory worker?
As a factory worker he has to get up early, pay is not too high, the work load is a lot and repetitive.

4. What life lessons has Andrew learned from his summers at the factory?
Andrew learned that if he does not want to work I a factory forever then he has to do good in college and have a good education.

5. Choose a quote from the reading and react to it. Include the quote.
“Many people pass their lives in the places I briefly work, spending 30 years where I spend only two months at a time.”
I think this quote is important because it is true and the only way to avoid work you may not enjoy is by getting a good education.

Reply
Matthew McCahey
3/3/2013 10:37:03 pm


1. Andrew worked for a Car Manufacturer in Michigan


2. Andrew fixed cars for people around Michigan


3. Rows of hulking, spark-showering machines have replaced the lush campus and cavernous lecture halls of college life, is torture.


4. Andrew has learned that he should be happy to get an education in college, if he didn’t get that education, he would probably work in that plant for his whole life.


5. “As frustrating as the work can be, the most stressful thing about blue-collar life is knowing your job could disappear overnight.” I wouldn’t be able to deal with this either, at this point in the story I can feel his pain.

Reply
Mina Surprenant
3/3/2013 10:40:14 pm

1.) Where does Andrew Braaksma work during his summers?
Braaksma works in an automotive plant or factory in southwest Michigan, making subassemblies for a car manufacturer.
2.) What are some of the tasks Andrew performs?
Andrew’s time is spent stamping, cutting, welding, moving or assembling parts in the factory.
3.) What are some of the problems Andrew recognizes for those with a career as a factory worker?
Some of the problems are that factory workers work long 12 hour days and they don’t get paid very much for working so hard; none of the classes a factory worker took helped them to be prepared for the machines in the factory or the work that had to be done; and that factory life was very stressful knowing that one could lose their job at any moment.
4.) What life lessons has Andrew learned from his summers working at the factory?
The lessons Andrew has learned from his summers at the factory are very valuable. His lessons that are learned involving education are learned at the expense of those who weren't fortunate enough to receive one at all. Another lesson he has learned was to study hard and to keep reading, going back to having been lucky to receive an education. Overall, he has learned how lucky he is to get an education, how to work hard, and how easy it is to lose that work once you have it.
5.) Choose a quote from the reading and react to it. Include the quote.
Quote-“The things that factory work has taught me--how lucky I am to get an education, how to work hard, how easy it is to lose that work once you have it--are by no means earth-shattering.”
Reaction- Now I know how important getting an education is. If you get an education, then you won’t have to spend long hard hours working in a factory that pays little, and to take advantage of the education you are given because some people aren’t fortunate enough to receive that education that you are given.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.